The Fallen

The Fallen by Tiffany Greenfield www.eleventhhourfiction.wordpress.com

 

The letter arrived 6 months after Pa died.  Mama couldn’t read a word so the preacher’s daughter, Miss Becker, read it to us.  We didn’t know where Santa Rosa Island was but Mama liked to think that it was someplace special.  I never did tell Mama that I knew when he fell, but I think she saw it in my eyes.  She had long since realized I had the gift.  I would see him sometimes before the dawn, standing by the corner of the barn.  He was waiting for her, I didn’t tell her that either.  The leaves wouldn’t be the only thing falling from the tall walnut tree behind the barn but at least he would be there to catch her.

Thank you for stopping by and reading. I enjoy hearing from readers and fellow bloggers and invite you to share your comments. Please visit my non fiction blog at www.eleventhhourmom.wordpress.com WRITE ON!

